canvas major

Dozer Dog Done

No matter how many times I photograph this and play with the image settings, the hues on the right side of the face come out stronger (brighter) than they really are.  Gr.  Once it dries and I can move it around more easily to shoot in different lighting, I will repost with a more accurate image.

For now, I’m just happy that Dozer is done.  I did enjoy painting him, and found that I did about 80% of it upside-down. Although I’m always turning the canvas on the easel to get a better angle on the area that I’m painting (and this canvas is almost as tall as I am), Dozer just always seemed to be upside-down.  I like that, by removing the “image” from the brain’s interpretation, I’m working purely on lines and proportions and colors, not ears and nostrils and eyes.

This entry was published on August 8, 2012 at 4:16 pm. It’s filed under dog, oil on canvas, portrait and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

